State Cup and Champion of Champions

State Cup

Each year Football NSW organises a state wide competition open to grass roots Association club sides.

In the following age groups, the highest graded teams from each club seeking to participate are entered into a knockout draw.

Boys/Men: 12, 14, 16, 18, 21, 0/35 & AA

Girls/Ladies: 12, 14, 16, 18 & All Age SW

The U21 competition is the Robertson Cup and the All Age Mens competition is the Bil Cullinan Cup.

In 2014 the following sides will contest the State Cups :
12A 13A 14A 18A 21A AA1/1 JW12A SWA

Lilli Pilli sides have typically drawn at least tne country game in their campaigns. The Over 35s annually declare their interest in a decent bus trip to play football anywhere in NSW.

The first round of the competition is normally played in early May with Finals played in mid July. Matches are played on Sundays so it is not uncommon for teams to play catchup games to maintain their participation inthe local competition whilst they strive for State Cup Victory. A few recent achievements are illustrated in video below.

In 2007, three Lilli Pilli sides competed in State Cup Finals. Here all
three teams (U14As, U21As and AL1s) are kitted out for the Final

Champion of Champions

Each year Football NSW organises a state wide competition where the champions of local grass roots Association competitions compete.

In the following age groups, the highest ranked teams in the Sutherland Shire competition are offered participation in the knockout tournament.

Boys/Men: Under 10 through to Under 18, U21, 0/35, O/45 & AA

Girls/Ladies: 12, 14, 16, 18, 21, All Age SW and Over 30 Women

Lilli Pilli has a long and proud history in the Champion of Champions tournament. Not unlike State Cup, Sutherland Association Minor Premiers are drawn against another Association, which may be country based. Lilli Pilli teams have played all over NSW to compete in this tournament. A few recent achievements are illustrated in video below.

The 10As in 1972 flew to Wagga in their pursuit of the Champion of Champions title. They defeated Wagga 6-0


Morgan Perry (Left Fullback) darts down the right hand side of the pitch on an overlapping run, crosses the ball and Jay Woods converts to take the lead in the 2012 Champion of Champions Final

Lilli Pilli Honour Board

1973 U/11 Champion of Champions winners
1978 U/13 Champion of Champions runners up
1985 U/21 Robertson Cup winners
1985 U/18 State Cup runners up
1987 U/21 Robertson Cup winners
1989 U/17 Champion of Champions runners up,
1989 U/17 Winners State Challenge
1995 U/18 State Cup winners
1995 U/18 Champion of Champions winners
1997 U/21A/1 Champion of Champions winners
1997 U/14 State Cup Runners Up
1998 U/11 Champion of Champions winners
1998 U/21 Champion of Champions winners
1999 U/16 State Cup winners
2000 U/16 State Cup winners
2000 U/17 Champion of Champions runners up (18A/ 2 team)
2002 U/16 State Cup runners up
2007 U/14A Winners State Cup
2007 U21A/1 Runners Up Robertson Cup
2007 AL1 State Cup runners Up
2007 21A/1 Winners Champion of Champions
2008 15A/1 Champion of Champions
2009 JW14A State Cup runners up
2009 JW14A Champion of Champions Winners
2010 JW16A2 State Cup winner
2010 U18A/1 State Cup winner
2010 U18A/2 Champion of Champions Runners Up
2011 JW14A State Cup runners up
2011 U18A1 Champion of Champions Winners
2012 U21 State (Robertson) Cup Runners up
2012 U21 Champion of Champions Winners
2013 AAM State (Cullinan Cup) Winners
2013 U21 Champion of Champions Winners
2015 AAM State (Cullinan Cup) Winners
2016 AAM State (Cullinan Cup) Winners

The David Paget coached 21A "Razzberries" secured the Champion of Champions title in 2007.

In a memorable Final, the 18A2 side in 2010 came back after trailing by 1-3 at half time. The game ended 3-4.

The 2009 LJ Hooker Lilli Pilli 18As and Premier League side travelled to Griffith to compete in the FNSW State Cup.


The AL1s were victorious over Hanwood FC following a penalty shootout in the Final of the 2013 Cullinan Cup Final


2012 Champion of Champions - U21s

The 21A2s had a successfull campaign and defeated Lindfield 2-0 in the Football NSW EA Sports Champion of Champions Final.

2011 Champion of Champions - U18s

The 2011 U18 Football NSW Champion of Champions Frinal was contested by Lindfield and Lilli Pilli FC.

2011 State Cup Runners Up - JW14As

The Lilli Pilli JW14A side made their way to the Final with some impressive wins and did not concede a goal. In the Final, the girls found themselves 0-2 down and fought their way back into the match. Whilst the game ended 1-2, the girls can be proud of their achievement.

2010 State Cup Victory - Under 18s - Lilli Pilli 18A2s

This was an all Sutherland Shire affair in the final. Lilli Pilli 18A2s played Sylvania and walked away victors as the sun set over Valentine Park late in the day. In 2010, three teams in the 18A competition all picked up trophies. Lilli Pilli A1s were Premiers, Lilli Pilli A2s won the State Cup and Sylvania took honours in the U17 Champion of Champions series.

2010 State Cup Victory - Junior Women 16s - Lilli Pilli 16A2s

Having been Runners Up the year earlier, Lilli Pilli were focussed on success in 2010. The girls fought hard and secured a memorable win at Valentine Park.

2010 Champion of Champions Under 18s Runners Up - Lilli Pilli 18A1s

After a long season hampered by injuries, the Lilli Pilli side made up almost entirely of 17 year olds took on the Under 18 Champions from many associations and made the Final at Valentine Park.

2009 Champion of Champions Victory - Junior Women 14s - Lilli Pilli JW14As

The final (vs Kincumber) was played at ANZ Stadium thanks to Football NSW. The girls were invited to use the dressing room and warm up facilities at the stadium and the match was projected live on the giant scoreboard.